Know Us Better




His Holiness 42nd, 43rd 44th  45th 46th  Jeeyars

श्रीमते श्रीलक्ष्मीनृन्सिंहपरब्रह्मणे नमः

श्रीवकुळभूषणायय नमः श्रीमते रामानुजाय नमः श्रीमते निगमान्त गुरवे नमः श्रीमते श्रीमदादिवण् शठकोपयतीन्द्रमहादेशिकाय नमः

श्रीमते  श्रीलक्ष्मीनृसिंहदिव्यपादुकासेवक  श्रीवण्शठकोप श्री श्रीरङ्गशठकोपयतीन्द्रमहादेशिकाय नमः

श्रीमते श्रीवण्शठकोप श्रीवीरराघवशठकोपयतीन्द्रमहादेशिकाय नमः

श्रीमते श्रीवण्शठकोप श्री श्रीवेदान्तदेशिकयतीन्द्रमहादेशिकाय नमः 

 श्रीमते श्रीलक्ष्मीनृसिंहदिव्यपादुकासेवक  श्रीवण्शठकोप श्री श्रीनारायणयतीन्द्रमहादेशिकाय नमः

श्रीमते  श्रीवण्शठकोप श्री श्रीरङ्गनाथयतीन्द्रमहादेशिकाय नमः

श्रीमते  श्रीवण्शठकोप श्री श्रीरङ्गनाथयतीन्द्रमहादेशिकाय नमः

Sri Ahobila Math Veda Prabandha Sastra Adarsh Samskruta Mahavidhyalaya, Madurantakam

(Administered by Sri Malolan Educational Trust)

Affiliated to the University of Madras

(Samskruta Mahavidyalaya is aided by Central Sanskrit University, H.R.D. Ministry, Govt. of India,

 under Adarsh Sanskrit Mahavidyalaya Scheme)

    Samskrutam with Samskruti

Sri Ahobila Math Adarsh Sanskrit Mahavidyalaya’s History

Sri Ahobila Math is a Srivaishnava religious Institution established more than 600 years ago (1398 C.E.) to spread the Visishtadvaita Vedanta as expounded by Sri Bhagavad Ramanuja and has a hoary past. Sri Vedanta Desika was considered preeminent among the acharyas in the post Ramanuja’s period. His followers had established several religious orders to nurture his teachings and one among them was Sri Ahobila Math.

It was founded under the divine dispensation of Lord Sri Lakshminrusimha of Ahobila kshetram, now in Andhra Pradesh, by the first Jeeyar Sri Athivan Sathakopa Yatindra Mahadesikan (1379-1459 C.E.).Tradition holds that Lord Sri Narasimha of Ahobilam appeared in the dream of Sri Kidambi Srinivasacharya of Tirunarayanapuram (now Melukote), and ordered him to go over to Ahobilam to worship Him. Upon reaching Ahobilam, Sri Srinivasacharya encountered the Lord Himself, in the guise of a yati (ascetic-sanyasi).


Sri Sathakopa Jeeyar

The yati had initiated Sri Srinivasacharya who was only 20 years old, into the ascetic order (sanyasaashrama) and gave him the title Sathakopa jeeyar. (Later the Lord Sri Athipiran of Azhwar Tirunagari and Saint Nammazhvar bestowed additional titles respectively “Van” and “Athi” and the Jeeyar was known as Srimad Athi Van Sathakopan.) The Lord commanded the Jeeyar to worship Lord Nrusimha and to undertake travel the length and breadth of the country to bless the devotees by administering the pancha-samskara(five-fold sacrament), Bhara-nyasa(total surrender unto the Lord) thereby redeeming the people from the cycles of birth and death and attain Moksha(salvation) and vanished from the scene. While the Jeeyar was praying at the altar of the nine Nrusimha murtis sanctifying Ahobilam, one of the nine processional deities (utsava idols), Sri Malolan, jumped into the hands of the Jeeyar and commanded him to worship and carry Him in his mission.

Sri Bhagavad Ramanuja’s

Thus, Sri Ahobila Math was founded.A succession of 46 Jeeyars known as Srimad Azhagiyasingars have headed Sri Ahobila Math. The present head His Holiness the 46th Jeeyar, Srimathe Sri Srivan Sathakopa Sri Ranganatha Yatheendra Mahadesikan assumed the pontificate in 2013 after his predecessor H.H. the 45th Jeeyar attained the paramapadam. He has travelled the country far and wide several times along with Lord Sri Malolan and his retinue, to bless the devotees and spread the tenets of Sri Bhagavad Ramanuja’s philosophy of Visishtadvaita Vedanta. The unique tradition of the Lord going to the houses of His devotees even now continues. In order to disseminate the philosophy of Sri Ramanuja’s Visishtadvaita Vedanta and to acquire proficiency in the Sastras that would benefit our Srivaishnava community, a knowledge of Sanskrit and its literature was essential.

Ubhaya Vedantins

Sri Bhagavad Ramanuja’s philosophy is the true religion of the Vedas drawing authority from the Prastana Thrayam, namely, the Upanishads, the Brahma-Sutra, and the Bhagavad-Gita. In addition to the Prastana Thrayam, Sri Vaishnavas consider the Tamil hymns of twelve saints called Azhvars as equal in authority to that of the Vedas. These hymns are called the Divya Prabandham. The teachings found in Divya Prabandham are completely consistent with the teachings of the Prastana Thrayam. Therefore, Sri Vaishnavas consider the Divya Prabandham to be equal in status to the Vedas. For this reason, Sri Vaishnavas are called Ubhaya Vedantins.